The House and Senate want President Obama to do nothing for the rest of the year, and they are willing to set the example:

Politico: Congress setting new bar for doing nothing

Continue Reading

From May 20, 1962.

President Kennedy speaks on the need for healthcare for all Americans.

Thanks to Randy Mings for the inspiration.

Continue Reading

The filing deadline for Iowa State and Federal Offices was March 18, 2016, and the Iowa Democratic Party is fielding an impressive set of candidates. The deadline for Monona County candidates is March 30th … we’ll have a follow-up then.


Democratic Candidate For U.S. Representative District 4: Kim Weaver

Kim Weaver is running for the seat […]

Continue Reading

By now, we’ve all seen video of Donald Trump rallies, with Trump encouraging strong-arm tactics against protesters.

His way is not the only way … there is a mature and “leaderly” way to deal with dissent.

Continue Reading

On March 12, 2016, Democratic Conventions were held in each of Iowa’s 99 counties.

The county conventions were the second step of the Iowa Democratic Party’s delegate selection process that began with the precinct caucuses on February 1st. County convention delegates broke into presidential preference groups and awarded delegates to the district and state conventions […]

Continue Reading

The 2016 Monona County Democratic Convention was held on Saturday, March 12, 2016 at the Monona County Courthouse in Onawa.  We enjoyed exceptional support and attendance by the registered Democrats in the County.

Thanks to Steve Pratt for providing photos of the convention!




Continue Reading

Precinct Total at Caucus Delegates Clinton O’Malley Sanders AS-BV-KB-LN-NW-FR-TU 24 7 4 0 3 CN002 11 4 3 0 1 CP003 38 15 10 0 5 Fairview-GranT-Lake-Rodney-West Fork-Whiting 41 11 6 0 5 MH005 24 8 5 0 3 Onawa Ward 1 16 6 4 0 2 Onawa Ward 2 – NE Franklin 20 6 […]

Continue Reading

Ken Mertes, Chair of the Monona County Democratic Party, was elected President of the Loess Hills Historical Society at its annual meeting on Sunday, February 21, 2016.  Other officers elected were:

Vice President – Jim Robbins of Mapleton

Secretary – Joleene Duff of Onawa

Treasurer – Lou Hewitt of […]

Continue Reading